About the Young Bar Committee

The Young Barristers’ Committee (YBC) is one of the main representative Committees of The General Council of the Bar.

Led by a Chair and Vice-Chair, it comprises elected members of the Bar Council (employed and self-employed barristers) up to 7 years’ practice, as well as barristers who are co-opted to ensure representation from different practice areas and all Circuits. It currently has over 20 members, employed and self-employed, specialising in civil, criminal and regulatory work, from both in and out of London.

As part of its routine activities, the YBC provides extensive input to the Bar Council’s responses to official consultations and Bar Council policy initiatives. In 2016, these have included representations on future training for the Bar, a review of civil justice procedure, and the Advocates Graduated Fees Scheme. YBC committee members also sit on various SBA committees, providing valuable input on young bar issues. The Committee meets six times a year.

Role and responsibilities

To promote and represent the interests of the young Bar within the Bar Council and beyond; to advise the representative committees of the Bar Council on all matters of concern to young barristers; and liaise with the Bar Standards Board on matters such as:

  • Training and entry to the Bar
  • Pupillage
  • Fees and public funding
  • Practice management
  • Regulatory and rule changes
  • Equality and diversity
Terms of Reference

To advise the representative committees of the Bar Council and their sub­-committees on all matters which appear to the Young Barristers’ Committee to be of particular concern to young barristers, or upon which advice is sought by other representative committees or sub­committees of the Bar Council, and to liaise with the BSB on such matters as necessary

  • To take such steps as seem likely to promote the interests of the Young Bar having regard to the interests of the Bar as whole, and
  • To elect a Chairman and Vice-­Chairman amongst their number.

Chairman: Athena Markides (Crown Office Chambers)

Vice-Chairman: Katherine Duncan (Garden Court Chambers)

Executive: Onyeka Onyekwelu (The Bar Council)

Committee Members: Aadhithya Anbahan (St Ives’ Chambers); Clare Bello (4 Paper Buildings; LPMA representative); George Bennett (20 Essex Street; IBC representative); Alex Cisneros (No.5 Chambers); Lucy Conroy (12 College Place); Diana Deju (OfGEM); Diane Doliveux (Tanfield Chambers); Oliver Harris (30 Park Place); James Holmes (Garden Court Chambers); Joanne Kane (Carmelite Chambers); Katie Longstaff (Radcliffe Chambers); Francesca Perselli (New Square Chambers); Michael Polak (Church Court Chambers) Charlotte Pope-Williams (Bank of England); Shabana Saleem (Charles Russell Speechlys); Benjamin Seifert (Temple Garden Chambers); Natasha Shotunde (5 St Andrew’s Hill).